Selection method

How winners of the Citizen of the Year awards were chosen

A group of 23 candidates was nominated by the Citizen of the Year secretariat from stories published January through December 2019 in daily newspapers (primarily the Tokyo and Osaka editions of Asahi Shimbun, Mainichi Shimbun, Yomiuri Shimbun, Nihon Keizai Shimbun, and Sankei Shimbun, Hokkaido Shimbun, Kahoku Shimpo, Tokyo Shimbun, Chunichi Shimbun, and Nishinippon Shimbun). In its meeting on January 6, 2020, the selection committee discussed the candidates and chose the winners.
(Announcement of the winners took place at an awards ceremony held January 30, 2020 at the Palace Hotel Tokyo in Otemachi, Tokyo.)